Inspire me, Towanda!

I am always on the lookout for blogs by folks who have undergone radical changes in their lives. I often wonder if these people wake up and have a “lightbulb” moment, or whether it’s a gradual decision to do something like leave their spouses (or get married), lose 100 lbs, make a drastic career change, etc. You get the gist. Well, I have never found “the one” blog that inspired me to make these kinds of changes. It’s as though I have surfed the web waiting for some divine inspiration to drop in my lap via the lap of someone else….hasn’t happened yet. So here I am – ready to make a drastic change or two.

This is my SHIFT year – full of a crazy karmic roux It’s my year to create the blog I always wanted to stumble across to inspire my own “lightbulb moment”. For the next month (December 2013) I will be setting the stage for success (I hope) because failure at life just isn’t an option anymore. Put a fork in me – I’m done[ sucking at life]. 

Over the next few weeks I’ll be creating lists, delving into what I want to change, why I want to change it, and most importantly trying to fill myself with the courage to implement these changes.

Here’s a preview of why you should hang out with my blog:

I *hate* my relationship, my job, the people I surround myself with (or lack thereof), my body, my career (or lack thereof), my dirty house, and everything in between. In other words: radical change needs to happen, and it will. This blog isn’t about losing 50 pounds or taking a Cosmo relationship test to see whether or not I should leave my spouse. It’s about digging deep, being honest with myself, and [re]claiming my autonomy…about charting the life I want and taking steps to get there… about climbing out of a hole clogged with the pores of depression where liquor and bar stools just aren’t doing it for me anymore. 

I want my life to look like someone else’s by the end of 2014. I want to look back on these forthcoming December posts and wonder who that person was. I want to prove to myself that change is inevitable, but suffering is optional. 

Not to sound cliche, but…Towanda!

Leave a Reply

