Depression + Holidays = Not Sucking So Far

I know the holidays suck for a lot of people with depression, but I actually enjoy it despite wanting to walk into traffic from time to time. December is a month when I’m reminded that even though I push most of my friends away, I have a huge family and although they’re dead ass broke, it’s always a big ordeal. They all live 2000 miles away and this is the first time in a LONG time I’ve been home for Christmas, so we are all looking forward to it. It’s good for me and my depression because:

1. It gives me something to look forward to (my schedule is usually WIDE open for a month at a time and there are times when having nothing at all to look forward to – not even a work meeting – is really depressing.) 

2. I get to go shopping (I really enjoy shopping for people. One of my biggest issues is how bad my credit is, and how horrible I am at managing my own finances, but this is the first time I get to see family in a long while, and I’m shopping for them damnit.) 

3. Shopping gets me out of the house (self explanatory when you’re a depressed hermit like me). 

4. Getting out of the house means I’m more social both in public and on the phone (again self explanatory when you’re a depressed hermit like me). 

So this is a good lead-up to my 2014 roux mixing… instead of coming out of my shell cold turkey, I get a month (or at least a couple weeks) of hopping back into the real world first. Social interaction + doing things I like (shopping/holiday events)…yep, all good.

Today wasn’t a horrible day. Booyah! This post brought to you by Famous Amos Chocolate Chip cookies & Dunkin Donuts coffee @9pm…

 

Leave a Reply

