THE PLAN

Planning this year and this blog has taken me a month or so. I decided at the beginning of December 2013 that I was going to do this, and that I would take more of a methodological approach. What I mean is that I work much better when I have everything all laid out, so that’s what I did.  Check this out:

 


1. First, I split my 2014 life hack resolutions into categories:

 

*I will label each week with one category and focus on that category for the week. Also, each category will have sub-to-do lists, goals, and year-end-objectives. 

  • Body
  • Mind
  • Health
  • Relationships
  • Finances
  • Career
  • Home
  • Bucket List 

The “Bucket List” category is important. It contains all of the things I want to do this year that don’t necessarily fit into other categories – consider it a pre-2015 to-do list. I’ll be using these categories to  “check up” on myself and to create weekly focus areas, as well as having a list of specific goals in each for the year.

2. NEXT, I also recognize that in order to achieve my goals, I need to build habits: 


Since habits take 21 days to stick, I made a list of habits I will work on all year long, and you’ll be hearing about how they all go.

*One after the other, I will try to form habits this year and stick to them.

  1. Brush teeth more (DONE in January – 3x per day) 
  2. 5 Min Yoga in Mornings (Working on this in February) 
  3. Devote 5 Mindful minutes to my dog every day
  4. Happy Thoughts Jar
  5. Clean 5 min per day
  6. Blog Daily
  7. Exercise Daily
  8. Check Email Daily
  9. 1 day per week = no tech
  10. Spend more time outside
  11. Wake up earlier (8:30 at latest)

3. NEXT, in order to accomplish everything above, I need to stay motivated. 

This blog is one of the many tools I will use to keep motivated in addition to the use of TeuxDeux.com, DayZeroProject.com, Pinterest, and Twitter. I also plan to binge on self-help books and TED talks.

  • Keep sidebar lists of motivational articles
  • Use Pinterest to create motivational boards
  • Create/utilize reward charts for weight loss and habit forming.

Below is my 2014 WEIGHT LOSS REWARD CHART. You’ll notice the rewards are pretty damn good and they gradually get better. I did this for a reason. Buying a new shirt or lip gloss isn’t motivation for a hedonist like me.

FEBRUARY 4, 2014 UPDATE: 
I passed the 2.5 & 5 lb mark.. working on the 7.5 one now – hope to get it there SOON. I haven’t “cashed in” my banked rewards yet.

4. USE A CALENDAR to tie it all together 

  • Make sure the calendar includes dates + events (things to look forward to) + milestone markers + to do lists

Why? Because I don’t do well just with to-do lists, and I don’t do well with just a calendar…but a fusion of calendar + to-do list is exactly what I need to stare at. A big milestone happens in the middle of this year: my 30th birthday. The calendar contains A) Milestones and rewards of where I should be at each point in the year with my lists above B) Important events throughout the year.

… stay tuned. 

Leave a Reply

